At Mother’s Breast

17Jun10

Breastfeeding is one of the many unique abilities women possess (like childbirth!) that often gets classified as something women have to get through, instead of something joyful that they should look forward to! I know it’s one of the aspects of motherhood I’m looking forward to.

A photographer and mother in Utah has started capturing the beauty and normalcy of breastfeeding in a project called At Mother’s Breast.  I could sit here for hours looking at the photos! Captivating.

What I love the most are the pictures of moms breastfeeding toddlers and older children! I hope to breastfeed my children until they want to wean, but most of society isn’t used to that.  Think about it… how often do you see women breastfeeding at all? And in the few occasions I can think of a mom breastfeeding in public, the babies were still babies! I know there are people out there that breastfeed toddlers, and if I were them I wouldn’t do it in public either! Passers-by are too quick to comment about why that’s so bad for the child, how it hinders their independence, and how painful it must be when they bite! Why do people think it’s okay to criticize another’s choices? ::takes deep breath::  I digress.

Enjoy the beautiful breastfeeding pictures.  And don’t let other people tell you how to raise your children 🙂

No Responses Yet to “At Mother’s Breast”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

